Fellow Award

  The SAMPE Fellow Award is one of SAMPE’s most prestigious Global Awards, bestowed in recognition of outstanding SAMPE Members for distinguished contributions in the fields of materials and processes over an extended time period.

SAMPE Fellows have distinguished themselves through recognized leadership in the field of materials and processes; outstanding accomplishments over an extended period of time; and broad and productive achievements in production manufacturing, manufacturing, design, development, research or education.

The SAMPE Fellows exemplify SAMPE’s Mission, Vision and Values:

  • Mission: Advance the materials and process engineering community and field, through a global forum that provides education, technical resources and professional fellowship
  • Vision: SAMPE is pivotal to every new innovation and process solution
  • Value: Knowledge transfer, creativity and innovation, professional engagement and inclusion, absolute integrity

The SAMPE Fellows provide a broadly based forum for technical and professional leaders to serve as advisors to the society.

This award is presented at CAMX.

Nominations are due February 15 of each year. The nomination process is one by peers and is not a self-nomination process. Nominees must meet the highest intent of the award and must be an active SAMPE member with at least five years of continuous membership.  SAMPE Fellow Global Practice

Questions? Contact Juliet Marshall at Juliet@sampe.org or +1.626.540.4114.

Class of 2023:

  • Shin Utsunomiya, FSAMPE, Kanazawa Institute of Technology & National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
  • Uday Vaidya, FSAMPE, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, ORNL, & IACMI

Class of 2022:

Class of 2021:

Class of 2020:

SAMPE Fellows

Dr. Frances L. Abrams, FSAMPE
Dr. Donald F. Adams, FSAMPE*
Sam Aker, FSAMPE*
Dr. Fred H. Ancker, FSAMPE*
Dr. William B Avery, FSAMPE
Dr. Ever Barbero, FSAMPE
Jerome L. Bauer, FSAMPE*
Dr. Scott W. Beckwith, FSAMPE
Dr. Kay Youngdahl Blohowiak, FSAMPE
Gary Bond, FSAMPE
Arlene McKeeman Brown, FSAMPE
Dr. Charles E. Browning, FSAMPE
Klaus Brunsch, FSAMPE*
Jack E. Burroughs Sr., FSAMPE
Dr. Christos C. Chamis, FSAMPE
Gail A. Clark, FSAMPE
Dr. Linda L. Clements, FSAMPE
Dr. Leslie Jay Cohen, FSAMPE
Dr. John W. Connell, FSAMPE
Dr. Allan S. Crasto, FSAMPE
Samuel J. Dastin, FSAMPE*
John Delmonte, FSAMPE*
Nicholas J. Delollis, FSAMPE
L. Ken Drake, FSAMPE
Dr. Klaus Drechsler, FSAMPE
Dr. Lawrence T. Drzal, FSAMPE
Robert Dunaetz, FSAMPE*
George Epstein, FSAMPE*
Prof. Paolo Ermanni, FSAMPE
Anthony Falcone, FSAMPE*
Dr. Raymond W. Fenn Jr., FSAMPE
Brian Flinn, PhD, FSAMPE
Eugene R. Frye, FSAMPE
Pete George, FSAMPE
Dr. Ronald Gibson, FSAMPE*
Dr. John W. Gillespie, Jr., FSAMPE
Dr. Johnny Golden, FSAMPE
W. Brandt Goldsworthy, FSAMPE*
Rudy Gonzalez, FSAMPE
Faramarz Gordaninejad, FSAMPE
George Gregory, FSAMPE*
Gail Dolan Hahn, FSAMPE
Dr. John Halpin, FSAMPE
Dr. Charles L. Hamermesh, FSAMPE*
Charles A. Harper, FSAMPE
Dr. James A. Harvey, FSAMPE*
Dr. Ray Hauser, FSAMPE
Dr. Ing Frank Henning, FSAMPE
Paul M. Hergenrother, FSAMPE
Dr. Rikard Heslehurst, FSAMPE
Dr. Clement Hiel, FSAMPE
Dr. Tsuneo Hirai, FSAMPE
John T. Hoggatt, FSAMPE
Charles J. Hurley, FSAMPE*
Dr. Naohiro Igata, FSAMPE
Kenji Iizuka, FSAMPE*
Dr. Jude Iroh, FSAMPE
Dr. Ori Ishai, FSAMPE
Dr. Hatsuo (Ken) Ishida, FSAMPE
Dr. Takashi Ishikawa, FSAMPE
Mr. Sakuya Iwai, FSAMPE
Samuel M. Jacobs, FSAMPE*
Clark W. Johnson, FSAMPE
Harry S. Katz, FSAMPE
Dr. Howard Katzman, FSAMPE
Dr. Keith Kedward, FSAMPE*
Dr. Jose M. Kenny, FSAMPE
Dr. Isao Kimpara, FSAMPE
Gaku Kimura, FSAMPE*
Dr. Howard S. Kliger, FSAMPE
Dr. Frank K. Ko, FSAMPE
Dr. James B. Koeneman, FSAMPE
Dr. Joseph H. Koo, FSAMPE
Norbert Kordsmeier Jr., FSAMPE
Dr. William P. Koster, FSAMPE
Dr. Jesa Kreiner, FSAMPE
Raymond B. Krieger, FSAMPE*
Morton Kushner, FSAMPE*
Adrie Kwakernaak, FSAMPE
Max L Lake, FSAMPE
Dr. Charles Lee, FSAMPE
Dr. Stuart M. Lee, FSAMPE*
Dr. James C. Leslie, FSAMPE*
Prof. Andrew Long, FSAMPE
Steward N. Loud Jr., FSAMPE*
George Lubin, FSAMPE*
Dr. Vsevolod G. Lutsau, FSAMPE*
Mr. Michael (Mick) Maher, FSAMPE
Andrew C. Marshall, FSAMPE*
Clayton A. May, FSAMPE*
Donald Mazenko, FSAMPE
Dr. Michael V. McCabe, FSAMPE
Dr. Douglas A. McCarville, FSAMPE
Lee McKague, FSAMPE
L.E. “Roy” Meade, FSAMPE
Geoffrey F. Meades, FSAMPE*
Dr. Yasushi Miyano, FSAMPE
Edgar E. Morris, FSAMPE
Karl Nelson, FSAMPE
Bryan R. Norton, FSAMPE
Nobuyuki Odagiri, FSAMPE
Arnt Offringa, FSAMPE
Dr. Amod Ogale, FSAMPE
Dr. Nobuo Ohashi, FSAMPE
Dr. Akimitsu Okura, FSAMPE
Dr. Ching-Long Ong, FSAMPE
Dr. Urs Otto Meier, FSAMPE
Javant D. Patel, FSAMPE
Allen P. Penton III, FSAMPE*
D. Cameron Perry, FSAMPE*
Stanley T. Peters, FSAMPE
Dr. Michael R. Piggott, FSAMPE
Dr. Louis A. Pilato, FSAMPE
Robert Pinckney, FSAMPE*
Dr. R. Byron Pipes, FSAMPE
Dr. Anoush Poursartip, FSAMPE
Leonard M. Poveromo, FSAMPE
Dr. Nathan E. Promisel, FSAMPE*
Stanley Prosen, FSAMPE
Prof. Yiping Qiu, FSAMPE
Dr. Donald W. Radford, FSAMPE
Theodore J. Reinhart, FSAMPE*
Robert Riley, FSAMPE*
Frank E. Robinson, FSAMPE
Dr. John Russell, FSAMPE
Yoshiaki Sakatani, FSAMPE
Dr. Anthony E. Saliba, FSAMPE
Donald L. Schmidt, FSAMPE*
George F. Schmitt Jr., FSAMPE
Melvin M. Schwartz, FSAMPE
Robert J. Schwinghamer, FSAMPE*
Dr. James C. Seferis, FSAMPE
Dr. Tito T. Serafini, FSAMPE
Bernard Silverman, FSAMPE*
Dr. Brian E. Spencer, FSAMPE
Dr. George S. Springer, FSAMPE
Roger A. Stonier, FSAMPE
Pamela K Strong, FSAMPE*
Dr. A. Brent Strong, FSAMPE
Dr. James K Sutter, FSAMPE*
Nobuo Takeda, FSAMPE
Dr. Toshio Tanimoto, FSAMPE
Nobuhide Teranishi, FSAMPE
Dr. Katie Thorp, FSAMPE*
Dr. Tia Benson Tolle, FSAMPE
Dr. Luigi (Gino) Torre, FSAMPE
Dr. Stephen W. Tsai, FSAMPE
Dr. Thomas Tsotsis, FSAMPE
Gary W. Valentine, FSAMPE
John Van Hamersveld, FSAMPE*
Anthony Vizzini, PhD, FSAMPE
Dr. Ignaas Verpoest, FSAMPE
Dr. Ben Wang, FSAMPE
Douglas D. Ward, FSAMPE
Raymond F. Wegman, FSAMPE
Charles J. Weizenecker Sr., FSAMPE*
Sonya J. Westerback, FSAMPE
Dr. James M. Whitney, FSAMPE
Brian A. Wilson, FSAMPE*
Dr. Peter Wu, FSAMPE
Dr. Zhongmin Xue, FSAMPE
Prof. Dr.-Ing Xiaosu Yi, FSAMPE
Yichu Yin, FSAMPE
Dr. Shanying Zeng, FSAMPE
Dr. Carl H. Zweben, FSAMPE​