| Sign In  |  About Us  |  Jobs  |  New Account | Social Media |

George lubin memorial Award

George Lubin, an originator of reinforced plastics and pioneer in the development and implementation of advanced composites for primary structures had a long and distinguished career. George was quick to realize the importance of SAMPE in the mid-1960's and founded the SAMPE New York Chapter. Through his efforts and worldwide recognition, he led early international meetings including the first US-USSR non-metallics fair for which he was awarded a service medal by the then U.S. President Nixon.

George Lubin, a graduate engineer holding B.Ch.E and M.S. Ch.E from CCNY and long time SAMPE Fellow had led early composite development at the New York Applied Science Labs, Basson Industries, and a long and distinguished career at Grumman Aerospace Corporation from which he retired as Chief Scientist. George had received many awards and accolades from several high-ranking government, university, and industrial officials for his untiring work to advance material science and processing for the betterment of society throughout the world.

Upon his death, the SAMPE organization was quick to recognize his over 50 years of composites development work by establishing the George Lubin Award. This award is given to recognize others who have made significant contributions in the field of material and process engineering. The industry surely misses George's honesty, wit, and hard working ethic that always got the job done effectively and efficiently. The George Lubin Award allows us to remember the man and helps us to initiate his strong desire to teach, lead, and reward advancements in both technology and world friendship. 

CLICK HERE to view the rules, requirements and nomination form for the SAMPE George Lubin Memorial Award.

Nominations will be accepted throughout the year. Nominations for consideration for the 2017 Lubin Award are closed. The 2017 Lubin Award will be presented in September during CAMX 2017 in Orlando, Florida.

Ray Cull, Chair
George Lubin Memorial Award

Award recipients:

1986        Melvin M. Schwartz
1987        Stephen W. Tsai
1988        Tito T. Serafini
1991        Stephanie L. Kwolek
1994        Philip M. Condit
1995        Elbert L. Rutan
1996        George Epstein
1997        W. Brandt Goldsworthy
1998        Raymond J. Palmer
1999        Vincent J.Russo
2003        George K. Muellner
2004        Thaddeus H. Sandford
2006        Jon B. DeVault
2012        Dr. Leslie J. Cohen
2016        Dr. John Tracy